Meet our team

The awards are an initiative of three Melbourne professionals with a keen interest in promoting and advocating for clear communication in Australia.

Carolyn Alexander

Director, Wheatfield Communications

Carolyn Alexander is an award-winning journalist and communications specialist who works with businesses and individuals on their short-term projects, including plain language materials. She has managed promotions for the Herald Sun, organised events attended by up to 10,000 people and judged numerous awards including Victoria Law Foundation’s Legal Reporting Awards.

Joh Kirby

Director, Kirby Governance

Joh Kirby is past Executive Director of the Victoria Law Foundation, the director of Kirby Governance and a recipient of a Churchill Fellowship to research best practice community legal information. She is a judge of the Plain Language Awards and a recent past President and board member of Clarity, the international body promoting plain language in the law. Joh has received awards for her writing and community legal information projects. She is a sought-after keynote speaker and judge for plain English conferences around the world.

Carol Mackay

Director, Design Business Council

Carol Mackay is a designer and co-founder of the Design Business Council, an organisation founded in part to promote excellence in design and its role in a successful and sustainable business. Prior to the Design Business Council, Carol co-founded the successful graphic design studio Mackay Branson design. Carol has built a career focussed on helping the financial, legal, insurance, superannuation and service sectors use design to add clarity to their often complex message.

Our judges

Judges will be revealed closer to the opening of entries for the awards.

Each category will be judged by three experts, one each from the communication, design and plain language sectors.

Stay up to date as we release more information

Subscribe to our mailing list